Top Nav

Clubs / Activities

Sandy High School offers a great assortment of activities and clubs for your student to become involved in!!

 

ART CLUB
Students interested in expanding their art talent beyond the classroom.
Advisor:  Dan Shanklin
Email:  dan.shanklin@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

AUTO MECHANICS CLUB
The Auto Club promotes and helps prepare students interested in many facets of the automobile industry.
Advisor:  Peter Craemer
Email:  peter.craemer@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

AQUANAUT
Advisor:  Andy Wex
Email:  andy.wex@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

AZTECA CLUB
Azteca Club is open to all students interested in Hispanic culture, particularly students of Mexican background who wish to participate in cultural activities that promote cultural pride and increase community awareness and acceptance.  Planned activities will include a community Mexican dinner and a Cinco de Mayo Dance.
Advisor:  Edgar Montellano
Email:  edgar.montellano@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

BUSINESS CLUB
Advisor:  Nick Mato
Email:  nick.mato@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

CHEERLEADING
Students interested in cheerleading must have a good recommendation from each of their instructors in the areas of citizenship, character, and attendance.  This club has a participation fee of $65 per season.  Cheerleaders are responsible for the purchase of their uniform, costs varies, check with the coach.
Advisor:  Ashleigh Arnold
Email:  sandyhighschoolcheer@gmail.com
Cheer Website

 

CHESS CLUB
Advisor:  Paul Felstiner
Email:  paul.felstiner@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

DANCE TEAM
Coach:  Mary Johnson
Email:  missmarymac88@gmail.com

 

DRAMA
Advisor:  Colin Murray
Email:  colin.murray@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

EQUESTRIAN CLUB
This club offers students the opportunity to be involved in the care and maintenance of horses, while also competing at local and state competitions.  This club has OHSET dues and stall fees.
Advisor:  Gary Butts
Email:  info@rockranchemroidery.com

 

FELLOWSHIP OF CHRISTIAN ATHLETES
Advisor:  Anouxa Vixathep
Email:  anouxa.vixathep@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

FUTURE FARMERS OF AMERICA
The Future Farmers of America promote and prepare students to be involved in agro science, farming, nursery production, etc.  This club has a participation fee of $20 plus National dues.
Advisor:  Trisha Smith
Email:  trisha.smith@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

FRENCH CLUB
Students enrolled in French class or are interested in learning more about the culture of France are invited to participate in a variety of interesting activities.  This club has a participation fee of $20.
Advisor:  Kari Kaldahl
Email:  kari.kaldahl@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

GREEN CLUB
Advisor:  Jeremy Magee
Email:  jeremy.magee@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS STUDENTS OF AMERICA
The Health Occupations Students of America helps prepare students interested in the health care field.  Students attend statewide conferences and competitions.  This club has a participation fee of $20 plus National dues.
Advisor:  Sandra Carter
Email:  sandra.carter@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC
Advisor:  Rob McGlothin
Email:  robert.mcglothin@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

JOURNALISM
Advisor:  J.D. McIntire
Email:  jonathan.mcintire@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

KEY CLUB
This community service club is a younger version of the Kiwanis Club and is involved in a number of activities of service to the Sandy area such as the annual canned food drive.  This club has a participation fee of $20 plus National dues.
Advisor:  Tara Finnegan
Email:  tara.finnegan@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

LITERARY SOCIETY
Students interested in sharing the love and knowledge of books and literature are welcome to join.  Primary activities include book club meetings and participation in the Oregon Battle of the Books.
Advisor:  Dana Berglund
Email:  dana.Berglund@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

METALS CLUB
Advisor:  Paul Panula
Email:  paul.panula@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

MOCK TRIALS CLUB
This club has developed a Mock Trial Team and will compete in competitions.
Advisor:  Chris Meyers
Email:  chris.meyers@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY
This organization is open to juniors and seniors who have demonstrated leadership, good character, service and scholarship with a 3.5 cumulative grade point average (GPA).  This club has National dues.
Advisor:  Leslie Nicholas
Email:  leslie.nicholas@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

QSA CLUB
Sandy High School Queer-Straight Youth Alliance Club is an educational, safe, supportive and inclusive group for students of all sexual and gender identities.  The QSA Club will promote acceptance, educate, and plan functions for students who wish to socialize in a place free of discrimination.
Advisor:  Ryan Cauch
Email:  ryan.cauch@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

RACQUETBALL
Students interested in playing racquetball in the Oregon High School Racquetball League.  Beginners to advanced players welcome.  Season is October-February.  Practices are at Mt. Hood Athletic Club.  This club has a fee for league/membership dues.
Coach:  Steve Altizer
Email:  saltizer215@gmail.com
Phone:  503-545-6742

 

ROBOTICS CLUB
This club has annual dues.
Advisor:  John Rakos
Email:  john.rakos@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

SKILLS CLUB
Advisor:  Peter Craemer
Email:  peter.craemer@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

SNOWBOARD CLUB
Coach:  Ben Beavon
Email:  benbeavon@gmail.com
Advisor:  Todd Mobley
Email:  todd@lancasterengineering.com

 

SNOWRIDERS CLUB
Six Wednesday evening trips are planned to Mount Hood Meadows for students and staff.  This club has a participation fee of $20.
Advisor:  Seth McCracken
Email:  seth.mccracken@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

SPANISH CLUB
Students enrolled in Spanish class or are interested in learning more about the culture of Spain or Mexico are invited to participate in a variety of interesting activities.  This club has a participation fee of $20.
Advisor:  Amanda Caudill
Email:  amanda.caudill@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

SPEECH TEAM
This team is for students interested in developing their communication skills by participating in competitive speaking events such as debate, interpretive events, extemporaneous and impromptu speaking.  This club has a participation fee of $130.
Advisor:  Chris Meyers
Email:  chris.meyers@ortrail.k12.or.us

 

VOCAL MUSIC CLUB
Advisor:  Alec Chase
Email:  alec.chase@ortrail.k12.or.us